Don Bosco Council #7784

About Our Council

Meeting Schedule & Location

Council Business Meeting Schedule

2nd Thursday of the month at 7:30 PM

Council Officers Meeting Schedule

1st Thursday of the month at 7:30PM

Meetings Location

Sacred Heart Center
20 Swartswood Road
Newton, NJ 07860 US

View Larger Map


Mailing Address

P.O. Box 52
Newton, NJ 07860 US

In Support Of:

St. Joseph's Roman Catholic Church
24 Halstead Street
Newton, NJ 07860 US
To Website

Good Shepherd Roman Catholic Church
48 Tranquility Rd, RTE 517 Box 464
Andover, NJ 07821-4533 US
To Website

Our Lady Queen of Peace Roman Catholic Church
209 Route 206 North
Branchville, NJ 07826 US
To Website


About Us

Don Bosco Council 7784

Don Bosco Council 7784


Serving the communities of

Good Shepherd, Andover, N.J.

Our Lady Queen of Peace, Branchville, N.J.

St. Joseph's, Newton, N.J.


Our Council was Chartered May 1st, 1981 and was named in memory of St. John (Don) Bosco.  It originally served the parishes of Good Shepherd in Andover, Our Lady Queen of Peace in Branchville, Our Lady of Mt. Carmel in Swartswood, and St. Joseph's in Newton.  Our Lady of Mt. Carmel has since started its own Council.  The name, Don Bosco, was suggested by Father Michael Moriarity of St. Joseph's, the original council Chaplain, because of the Saint's prominence in the area. 

The council meets on the second Thursday of the month at the Sacred Heart Center,  20 Old Swartswood Road, Newton, NJ 07860   Meetings begin at 7:30 PM.  Social meetings are scheduled according to the activity planned. 

Directions to Sacred Heart Center can be found at:

We hope that you find our site useful.  Please take a moment to look around and learn about our mission.  

Back to Top

Our Principles

Our Principles

All the good works we do are informed by our four core principles:

Charity - Our Catholic faith teaches us to “Love thy neighbor as thyself.” Members of the Knights of Columbus show love for their neighbors by conducting food drives and donating the food to local soup kitchens and food pantries, by volunteering at Special Olympics, and by supporting, both spiritually and materially, mothers who choose life for their babies. Knights recognize that our mission, and our faith in God, compels us to action. There is no better way to experience love and compassion than by helping those in need, a call we answer every day.

Unity – None of us is as good as all of us. Members of the Knights of Columbus all know that – together – we can accomplish far more than any of us could individually. So we stick together…we support one another. That doesn’t mean that we always agree or that there is never a difference of opinion. It does mean that – as a Knight of Columbus – you can count on the support and encouragement of your brother Knights as you work to make life better in your parish and community.

Fraternity – The Venerable Michael J. McGivney founded the Knights of Columbus, in large part, to provide assistance to the widows and children left behind when the family breadwinner died – often prematurely. The Order’s top-rated insurance program continues to do this today, as do individual Knights, who last year gave more than 10 million hours of their time to assist sick and/or disabled members and their families. In the Knights of Columbus, we watch out for and take care of one another.

Patriotism – Members of the Knights of Columbus, be they Americans, Canadians, Mexicans, Cubans, Filipinos, Poles, or Dominicans, are patriotic citizens. We are proud of our devotion to God and country, and believe in standing up for both. Whether it’s in public or private, the Knights remind the world that Catholics support their nations and are amongst the greatest citizens.

Back to Top

Past Grand Knights

Past Grand Knights

We wish to thank those gentlemen whose tireless efforts helped to form and grow our council.

 1981 – 1983                            Jim Bird

1983 – 1984                            Tim Doherty

1984 – 1985                            Bill Hammann

1985 – 1986                            Ken Wolf

1986 – 1987                            Bill Doolan

1987 – 1988                            Charlie Bugge

1988 – 1989                            Jerry Woodring

1989 – 1990                            Mike McCaffrey

1990 – 1991                            Charlie Bugge

1991 – 1992                            Jim Bird

1992 – 1993                            Joe Stanek

1993 – 1994                            Dan Coranoto

1994 – 1996                            Mike DeStefano

1996 – 1998                            Bill Howell

1998 – 1999                            Dan Coranoto

1999 – 2000                            John Holzli

2000 – 2001                            Al Kucinski

2001 – 2003                            George Hayek

2003 – 2005                            Ted Valliere

2005 – 2007                            Jim Bodnar

2007 – 2008                            John Van Herwynen

2008 2009                            Ken Toner

2009 2011                            Bill Kadar 

2011 2012                            Geoffrey Crann

2012- 2014                              Bob Tiscornia

2014 - 2015                             Bob Barcelona

2015 - 2017                             Tom Sullivan, Jr.

2017 - 2019                             Tom Hudak

2019 - 2021                             Jim McDonald

2021 -  2023                            Rich Matrisciano

2023 -                                       Anthony Caroleo

Back to Top