Saint Edith Stein Council #13049

About Our Council

Meeting Schedule & Location

Council Business Meeting Schedule

3rd Wednesday of the month at 7:00 pm

Meetings Location

c/o Saint Faustina Parish
2571 Ottawa Regional Road 174
Cumberland, ON K4C 1E5 CA


Mailing Address

88 Rails Street
Rockland, ON K4K 0K2 CA

In Support Of:

St. Faustina Parish
2571 Ottawa Regional Road 174
Cumberland, ON K4C 1E5 CA
To Website

Our Lady of Divine Love
2084 Concession Road 10
Pendleton, ON K0B 1C0 CA


Council 13049, Winner of the Best Council Award, Division #5, 1st Place, 2021-2022

Our council was founded on the 24th of January 2002. This award is dedicated to all members, past and present of Council 13049.

Our Council has received many other awards, recognizing the work of our members over 20 years.

Click Here.

Back to Top

History of Saint Edith Stein Knights of Columbus Council

News Article From The Vision Newspaper - Installation Of The New Council Officers


Saint Edith Stein Parish began when a small group of English parishioners came together to form a distinct English Faith Community in Rockland. The liturgy was initially celebrated at Ste-Felicité Church in Clarence Creek and then moved to the gymnasium in St. Patrick School Rockland in 1999.

The idea of establishing a new Knights of Columbus Council associated with Saint Edith Stein Parish, began in April 2001. Mr. Lloyd Maier along with Mr. Paul Brunette met with State and District officials to create a Council formation committee. In short order they had collected over 30 names of men who wanted to join the new Council.

When the Council received its Charter from Supreme there were 35 members. The Supreme Secretary assigned #13049 to the new council. The meetings were initially held in the auditorium of Saint Patrick School in Rockland.


The officers for the first council meeting were:

Grand Knight:                    Lloyd Maier

Deputy Grand Knight:        Paul Brunette

Chancellor:                        Gaetan Gendron

Financial Secretary:           Barry Lightowlers

Recorder:                           Darryl Power

Warden:                             Christopher Oldford

Treasurer:                          Real Munger

Lecturer:                            Deacon Maurice Malouin

3rd Year Trustee:               Timothy Halderson

2nd Year Trustee:               Michel Legault

1st Year Trustee:                Christopher Manders

Advocate:                          James Leonard

Inside Guard:                     Robert Baldwin

Outside Guard:                  Randolph Gratton


The council got off to a fast start by assisting with World Youth Day activities in the summer and a blood donor clinic on July 9th 2002. This was the first of two decades of support to local blood donor clinics.

Since the Council was established, we have been recognized with many KofC and community awards for the hard work of our members for our parish and community. The many awards our Council has received can be found by Clicking Here.


Over the past 20 years our council has grown to over 60 members who contribute to many community and parish activities in Rockland. Our parish affiliation has evolved with Saint Edith Stein amalgamating with Saint Margaret Mary in Cumberland. The parish would become known as St. Margaret Mary and St. Edith Stein Parish, pending the selection of a new name. The two parishes were officially united as one on July 1, 2018. The name of Saint Faustina Parish was chosen and the new parish was established on July 1st 2019. Our Council’s charitable activities have grown to include the Cumberland community as well as Rockland.

So even though our parish affiliations have evolved over 20 years we still proudly carry the name of Saint Edith Stein Knights of Columbus Council #13049.

Back to Top

Charter Members

CLICK HERE to see the Council 13049 Charter

Our council was founded on the 24th of January 2002 as Saint Edith Stein Council  #13049, in Rockland, Ontario.


The Charter Members were:


Rev. Yves J. A. Marchildon

Jean-Pierre Allaire

Bernard M. Anderson

Roger M. Annett

Christopher D Aylward

Robert D. Baldwin

Glen F. Benson

Paul G. Brunette

Sergio J. Coccia

Keith J Doucette

Jerome A. Gagnier

Richard Gervais

Randolph R. Gratton
Patrick F. Gunning

Timothy Halderson

Steven D. Karwaski

Timothy J Karwaski

John Larabie

Michel G Legault

James T. Leonard

Barry Lightowlers

Charles F. Maheu

Lloyd A. Maier (Grand Knight)

Maurice W. Malouin

Christopher L. S. Manders

David W. McIsaac

Réal J. R. Munger

Ernest J. Murray

Austin E. Nunan

Christopher C. Oldford

Marcel R. Payette

Darryl V. Power

Eric W. Reisinger

Richard Sigouin

Barry C. Thirnbeck


Back to Top