News & Announcements

What is a Practical Catholic

What is a Practical Catholic?


A practical Catholic is defined as a person who follows the commandments of God and the laws of the Church. It is very important for candidates presenting themselves for membership to have a thorough understanding of the implications of this requirement. A practical Catholic observes:


The Laws of the Church

  • Attends Mass on Sundays and Holy Days of Obligation.
  • Fasts and abstains from meat on appointed days.
  • Confesses one's sins at least once a year.
  • Receives the Holy Eucharist during the Easter time.
  • Contributes to the support of the Church.
  • Observes the laws of the Church concerning marriage. A valid marriage is one in which all the requirements have been met. A second marriage is invalid if there has been a divorce and an annulment has not been granted. If a brother Knight has become widowed and wishes to remarry, no annulment is needed, as long as the other party is also free to marry.
  • Joins in the missionary spirit and apostolate of the Church.


and follows:


The Ten Commandments


  1. I am the Lord your God, Who brought you out of slavery; worship no God except Me.
  2. You shall not misuse the name of the Lord your God.
  3. Remember to keep holy the Sabbath Day.
  4. Honor your father and your mother
  5. You shall not kill.
  6. You shall not commit adultery.
  7. You shall not steal.
  8. You shall not tell lies against your neighbor.
  9. You shall not covet your neighbor’s wife or husband.
  10. You shall not covet your neighbor’s possessions. 


Holy Days of Obligation


  • Solemnity of Mary Mother of God ( January 1 )
  • Ascension of Jesus ( during the Easter season )
  • Assumption of Mary ( August 15 )
  • All Saints Day ( November 1 )
  • Immaculate Conception ( December 8 )
  • Christmas ( December 25 )


The Greatest Virtue


Love is a virtue that enables us to love God, our neighbor, and ourselves. When we practice the virtue of love, we come to know why St. Paul ends his description of love by saying that of the three virtues of faith, hope and love, “the greatest of these is love.”


In our Catholic tradition, we know some very specific ways to practice the virtue of love. These are called the Corporal and Spiritual Works of Mercy.


          The Corporal Works of Mercy


          Show us how to care for the physical well-being of our neighbors:


  • Feed the hungry
  • Give drink to the thirsty
  • Shelter the homeless
  • Clothe the naked
  • Care for the sick
  • Help the imprisoned
  • Bury the dead


The Spiritual Works of Mercy


Show us how to care for the spiritual well-being of our neighbors:


  • Share knowledge
  • Give advice to those who need it
  • Comfort those who suffer
  • Be patient with others
  • Forgive those who hurt you
  • Give correction to those who need it
  • Pray for others