## **Scholarships**

The Missouri State Council awards a total of eleven (11) scholarships each year. Each scholarship has an annual award of \$1500, payable in installments of \$750 per semester.

- Four Luke E. Hart Memorial Scholarships. The recipients must attend one of the branches of the University of Missouri: Columbia, St. Louis, Rolla, or Kansas City. If fewer than four qualified applicants apply, then these scholarships may be awarded as specified for Missouri State Scholarships.
- Three Missouri State Scholarships. The recipients may attend any accredited University or College within the state of Missouri.
- Three Vocation Scholarships. The recipients may attend any accredited seminary or college of their choice to study for a vocation to the religious life. If no applications are received from applicants desiring to study for a vocation to the priesthood or to serve in a religious community, then these scholarships may be awarded to other applicants with preference given to those attending Catholic institutions.
- One Tech School Scholarship. The recipient may attend any accredited Technical School. These are normally two-year programs.

The student must be a member of the Knights of Columbus; the son, daughter, or wife of a member of the Knights of Columbus in good standing; the son, daughter, or non-remarried wife of a deceased member of the Knights of Columbus; a member of a Ladies Auxiliary of a Missouri Knights Council; a Squire or Columbus Girl in good standing attested to by the Chief Counselor and GK; or a minor child whose legal guardian is a member of the Knights of Columbus. The membership requirements do not apply to Vocation applicants.

Scholarship winners are selected on the basis of Catholic citizenship, community service, scholarship, and financial need, by a committee appointed by the State Deputy. All scholarships are for Missouri residents. Payments are made directly to the institution. Completed applications using only the 2019-2020 application form, available from <u>the state website</u>, and required certification forms must be postmarked no later than February 15, 2019. Questions may be sent to <u>Chairman Rocky Gambon</u>.